Are you very comfortable?

“And Jabez was more honourable than his brethren: and his mother called his name Jabez, saying, Because I bare him with sorrow. 

And Jabez called on the God of Israel, saying, Oh that thou wouldest bless me indeed, and enlarge my coast, and that thine hand might be with me, and that thou wouldest keep me from evil, that it may not grieve me! And God granted him that which he requested”. (1 Chronicles 4:9-10)

Everybody has a Comfort Zone. There is a certain temperature at which we feel the most comfortable. There is a way of life in which we feel at ease. There is a crowd of people with whom we feel most comfortable. When we are around the wrong crowd; in the wrong situation; in the wrong place; and doing the wrong things, we can feel very uncomfortable and out of place. When we find ourselves outside of our Comfort Zone, we can become a little nervous. There is nothing wrong with this; it just proves that we are interested in being comfortable. However, there is a sense when comfort can become a thing of concern.

It is easy to reach a place as individuals where we become satisfied with the status quo.  We so structure our lives to the point that we can almost predict what will happen from one day to the next. For many, this kind of stability provides a deep sense of security and well being, and there is nothing wrong with that. It is when this same type of comfortable living invades our spiritual life that will cause us trouble.Image

There is nothing wrong with being satisfied with your job, but when you become satisfied with your service to the Lord you have problems. There is nothing wrong with being comfortable with your home, your automobile, or your financial standing, but when you become complacent about your prayer life and satisfied with your spiritual progress, you need to move out of the comfort zone spiritually. We should never reach a place as a child of God where we are totally satisfied with our walk and our witness to a lost and dying world.

If any Christian had ever reached a place where he could be satisfied with his spiritual progress, it was the Apostle Paul. Yet, he remained unsatisfied and always reached for more, he said; “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus” Phil. 3:12-14 (ESV).

Now what about you? It’s time to get off that sofa I think!!!

Watch out for my next post where I’ll be looking closely at the prayer of Jabez, what we can learn from him about getting out of our comfort zone.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

