Test of Brotherly LOVE

JAMES 2:1-10

In his Epistle James open chapter 2 with a bold statement, implying that if I claim to be a child of God, I ought to treat everyone with the same fairness, but if I prefer one to another then, I cannot say I have the faith and Glory of Jesus Christ. To treat or esteem a man of great wealth and eloquence in high regard over a poor and needy persons, means that I’m impartial and a judge of evil thoughts (V1-4), but it ought not to be so among believers, because the love of God extends to all people, both to the rich and to the poor, He died on the cross for all, and have made even the poor that love Him joint heirs of the Kingdom (v5). But the test of brotherly love is to obey the royal law according to scripture to love thy neighbour as thyself (V8).

Image

And in the words of Christ, in John 13:34-35, he gave a new commandment that my love for others, should reflect the love that He has for me, because it is through this divine love that all men will know that I am indeed a follower of Christ.

Paul in his letter to the Corinthian brethren who had been obsessed with Spiritual gifting’s, told them as it speaks to me too, that even though I am able to speak in tongues but have not charity, no love, no compassion, my speaking in tongues is but in vain, I may be able to prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and have all the knowledge, and faith to move mountains, but I have no charity, all those other things are as good as nothing, I may even boast to be a generous giver, but without charity, it means nothing, therefore my gifts, talents, and offerings to God and to man mean nothing in heaven they are valueless, unless I am able to exercise them in love (1 Cor 13:1-3). For the fruit of the spirit itself is Love for God and one another, joy for Gods Love, and other accomplishments, peace with God, and will all men, longsuffering for the benefit of others, gentleness with others, goodness and faith in God, meekness and temperance in all things (Gal 5:22-23).

My Love ought to be pure as a clean glass of water, transparent and true, my love ought to be able to bear all things, believe in all things that is godly, hope in all things that are true, and endures all things (1 Cor 13:4-7).

I say to those who think love must be reciprocal, yes it is a beautiful think when love amongst brethren are mutual, but it will not always be so, I ask you, did God Love you when you were a sinner in the world? The answer to that is an unequivocal YES. Yes He loved you when you waved your angry fist at him in disobedience, He loved you when you mocked his word, He loved you when you stood in the way of others, God Loved you unto repentance. God’s love is pure and genuine, He cannot hate a human being, He only hates his sins. This is the standard for every child of God ‘But I say unto you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you;’ (Matt 5:44).

Love is one of God’s greatest gifts to man, though gifts are temporal the love of God abides forever, it faileth not (1 Cor 13:8-13).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

